Vietnam Veterans of America  

The VVA Veteran® Online  
  homepipeAboutpipeArchivepipeSubscribepipeContactpipevva.orgVVA gifFacebookContact    

-
March/April 2021 -   -  

The Wall, Then and Now

My Vietnam War was a mix of crushing heat and tremendous rains, long days working, and rocket and sapper attacks at our base. I worked as a clerk for the 47th Military History Detachment and later for the general staff at USARV HQ on Long Binh Post during my 1969-70 tour of duty.

When I came home, I never talked about the Army or Vietnam, except to family. Didn’t join any veterans group, and I struck my military service from my resume after managers balked at hiring me when they saw I was a Vietnam veteran.

So when I heard about the dedication of the Vietnam Veterans Memorial in 1982, I was surprised at my desire to be there for the dedication of a memorial to the veterans of a war I never talked about. At the time I was freelancing as a news writer and producer for a local cable outlet. I obtained a press pass for the events.

I flew down from Boston that November 10, and went to the 2.8-acre memorial site on the National Mall. People were wandering all around—even above the black granite walls.

Many were making rubbings of loved ones’ names. The haunting theme music from Chariots of Fire gently played from large speakers. People were leaving photos, teddy bears, rosaries, and other mementos at the base of the Memorial. Crowds were milling around its granite wall, touching it, looking for names. I walked among the groups of veterans, hundreds of them, many dressed in fatigues.

I was taking photos and interviewing veterans from Massachusetts when I noticed a guy on crutches standing away from The Wall, back under some trees. His right foot was in a cast and he was wearing camo jungle fatigues and a faded boonie hat. He wore a Hawaii state flag shoulder patch on his left sleeve.