Vietnam Veterans of America  

The VVA Veteran® Online  
  homepipeAboutpipeArchivepipeSubscribepipeContactpipevva.orgVVA gifFacebookContact    

-
March/April 2022 -   -  

Speak Out: Am I a Real Vietnam Veteran?

Have you ever asked yourself, “Am I a real Vietnam vet?” I certainly have, and I’ve struggled with the answer ever since I returned home from my 1971 Vietnam tour of duty.

That seems an odd statement. Of course, I am a Vietnam veteran if I served in Vietnam. Right? Yeah, I was there, but the question is: “Am I a real Vietnam veteran?”

I don’t think there is any doubt that receiving military orders to report to Vietnam was traumatic for everyone, no matter what year it was. The big unknowns were: Is it going to be bad or really bad? Will I ever come home again? Will I live or die?

There was no way around those thoughts. Those psychological contemplations and fears were real for all of us who faced those realities from day one, regardless of when we served or what our assignments were.

When I think about all of the stories I have read and the movies I have seen, “real” vets had a much different experience than I had. I didn’t get shot; I didn’t get wounded. Other than a battle with the delirious fevers of malaria, I came home unscathed—physically. So why wasn’t I a happy camper? What more could I have asked for? Why did I feel so guilty? Why did I have nightmares? And why do I question whether I am a real vet? None of it makes sense to me.

For many years after I came home, like many Vietnam vets, I never talked to anyone about my Army service and chose not to seek out other veterans. I kept to myself for the most part.